Waiting in Line

My frustration level is on high, hunger pangs are surging, sweat is beginning to show through embarassing parts of my shirt.  I’m already having visions of hitting the guy in front of me for his high volume phone chats that I’m sure are deliberately meant to annoy the heck out of me.


 

Queue by njaj at Freedigitalphotos.net

Image courtesy of njaj at FreeDigitalPhotos.net


And then my turn comes. I’m ecstatic. Just like a woman in labor, where all the pain miraculously goes away at the sight of her newborn, I’m suddenly filled with joy and relief. For now the wait is over.

OR SO I THOUGHT.

But the journey isn’t over. I’m standing in front of a uniformed personnel, whose patience is short, who couldn’t care less if I get hired or not, and who gives me the feeling I’m going to work doubly hard to make a good impression. Quite an uphill battle.

And so the struggle to be sane continues.

