Memorable quotes from Jodi Picoult’s “leaving time”

I just recently finished reading the book, “Leaving Time,” a brilliant novel that centers around a teenage girl in search of her mother. The story is interlaced with the lives and social behaviors of a psychic, a private investigator and, yes, elephants. Sharing some of the passages that left a touching impression on me and that stayed with me long after I finished the book.  

“The sound that a heart makes, when it is breaking,
is raw and ugly. And anguish, it’s a waterfall.”

“…there is no greater force on earth than a mother’s revenge.

“I sometimes think that it would be easier for me to learn that my mother died ten years ago than to hear that she lived and chose not to return.

“Sometimes I think there’s no such thing as falling in love. It’s just the fear of losing someone.”

“Keeping a secret isn’t always lying. Sometimes it’s the only way to protect the person you love.

“I think grief is like a really ugly couch. It never goes away.

“If no one hears you, are you even talking?

