Reflections on a (really) stormy night

Storm by pixabay

Image by Pixabay

Last night, the winds howled like the gods were angry. The rains came down hard too. I heard the backyard fence crushing down from the wind’s pressure. And as I peeked through the kitchen window, I saw the outdoor umbrella, now stripped naked of its dark green canopy which lay soaked on the ground. And at the height of it all, the power went out, bathing the whole house with total darkness. For someone who lives in sunny California where the rains, as of late, have been gratefully welcomed until it became a little overwhelming to handle, it was a pretty scary awakening.

Is judgement day happening? Is the end finally upon this earth? Am I even ready to meet my Maker? Have I made peace with my enemies? Thoughts were taking full speed in my head, and yet I knew deep within me, there was absolutely nothing I could have done if indeed the world ended last night.

There is only one thing for us to do, and that is to do our level best right where we are every day of our lives; To use our best judgment, and then to trust the rest to that Power which holds the forces of the universe in his hands.

– Orison S. Marden, American writer

